Legends of the Jedi Forums Share Yo’ Scripts About the MSDP protocol
This topic has 3 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 10 years, 7 months ago by dacen.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
    • dacen Participant
      September 18, 2013 at 3:33 am #22431

Hi,

I’m new to LotJ, but I’m an long time programer who usually finds more time on hack stuff than (almost) anything else…

Said so, I started to do my own LodJ client almost at the same moment I started playing the MUD, mostly because there were a couple of things I found necessary, and I really do not like mushclient or any of the clients around. I’m not saying my client is or will be better, just that it’s mine 😉 It currently does not do much: just sends OOC to a separated window (I find it better for immersion) and allows me to create bot commands (always the legal ones!).

DISCLAIMER: the client is not ready to be shown and I don’t know when it will be, but of course when I think is “showable” I will share it open source (is made in pharo so most probably no one will take it, but well, another option never hurts 🙂 )

So, here my question:

A couple of days before I was unable to play so I started to add MSDP protocol to the client, I create a couple of parsers, etc. and after awhile I can do the handshake and I receive the SERVER_ID variable.

Then… nothing else.

AFAIK, after agreeing to receive MSDP, server should start send commands regularly… so, what I’m doing wrong?

Thanks

• Johnson Participant
      September 19, 2013 at 10:48 pm #22439

After you handshake and receive the SERVER_ID variable you have to send a request for the variables you are interested in receiving.
      Here’s the base structure of the variable request packet we need to send:

Send IAC SB MSDP MSDP_VAR SEND MSDP_VAL VARIABLE1 MSDP_VAL VARIABLE2 IAC SE