Legends of the Jedi Forums Making LOTJ More Friendly For Newbies Thoughts and Questions After Playing First Character
This topic has 4 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 6 years, 10 months ago by khamael.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
    • Jamel Participant
      May 14, 2017 at 3:42 pm #29868

I just played my first character (human pilot), who went by the same name (Jamel). I am new to LOTJ, although I played a different MUD several years ago (was never very good at it, but it was fun.) I thought I would post a little about my experience, as someone new to the game. Below is a brief overview of my character’s experience, followed by more general thoughts and questions.

My character joined pretty late into Era 3. Out of the academy, Jamel joined the RU, just in time for it to be disbanded. So for the most part Jamel explored around independently. He eventually met up with and joined the Resistance, but offered little help. He was told he needed to spend more time working on his piloting skills and experience. When both sides converged on Ithor in response to the mysterious signal, Jamel was in a taxi, jumping from system to system, learning the ways of the pilot. He was listening to the comms, wishing he was more skilled. Jamel had little interaction with other players, although he was invited aboard a ship to join the fight around Dac. Having never been in ship other than a taxi, Jamel was pure dead weight. The ship’s pilot and gunner were impressive and sure made their mark on the battle, until we were on the other end of a high powered green laser blast. While that character was unremarkable, I learned a lot about the game, got better at keeping up with all the text, and am eager to get back into it with a new character.

Below are some thoughts and questions I have from my first experience:

* Ponder