Legends of the Jedi Forums The Brainstormtorium Capture or Kill? Advanced Civilization's Space Problems
This topic has 7 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated 6 years, 5 months ago by rakun.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
    • Oteri Participant
      October 13, 2017 at 12:55 pm #30443

So just about everyone knows I have a dog in this race (war) and I’m usually a pilot. In the years I’ve played here, I’ve been reprimanded, punished, and, true story, have had a guilty conscience at times over just straight nuking people in space because I suspect them to be an enemy without (enough or any) proof.

Recently, without too many details, I made a snap decision and immediately knew I did wrong. I’m sure you know where I’m going with this at this point.

So what I would like to do is open up a dialog and get some brainstorming done. Here’s my connundrum:
      1) I’m a pilot, I’ve got horribly shitty levels in combat.
      2) I don’t know if the potential enemy is a Sith Lord, Supreme Surface Marshal, or some flimsy ass espionage main that I could possibly actually win a fight against if it comes to one.
      3) I can’t always carry around 1-3 members of a gank squad in my hangar. Even if I do, what happens when they fuck up and the dude we just captured goes and throws 45 grenades into my engine bay because they forgot to block? And not all capital ships have “capture” bays with lockable doors.

Here’s what I’m looking for:
      1) I would prefer, and I know there are some staff members that would agree, to capture over kill, because dying in space like this is some bullshit. Fighters and transports die in 4-5 turbolaser shots, and larger ships that aren’t capital class don’t last much longer.
      2) How have you handled things like this in the past?
      3) What are some theories you think might work, without code?
      4) Are there things that could be eventually coded that might help with this?